Cornelius Cardew Composition Prize - Composers Web Project


John White backnextcomposer index
John White pic


Activities in theatre music have included composing the scores for the recent Royal Shakespeare Company productions of The Merry Wives of Windsor and Les Enfants du Paradis, many productions for the Royal National Theatre and various regional theaters, musical direction of Western Theatre Ballet and numerous musicals in London's West End.

Prelude Fanfare



Biographical Notes

JOHN WHITE was born 5 April 1936 in Berlin.
Piano with Helene Gipps, Kenneth van Barthold, Rosamund Ley and, at the Royal College of Music (RCM), Arthur Alexander and Eric Harrison.
Composition with Elisabeth Lutyens, Humphrey Searle and, at the Royal College of Music, Bernard Stevens.
Trombone and tuba with Dennis Wick and John Fletcher (of the Phillip Jones Brass Ensemble.)
Organ with Osborne Peasgoode at the Royal College of Music

Royal College of Music, Royal Academy of Music, The Yehudi Menuhin School, Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, Leicester Polytechnic (now de Montfort University.  Presently Head of Music at the Drama Centre, London.


Redlands University (California), The Mozarteum (Innsbruck), Internationale Schulmusikwochen (Salzburg), Portsmouth Polytechnic, Newport Art College, etc.

Has broadcast a series of programmes for schools for the BBC on 20th century music and is an occasional reviewer of recordings of contemporary music.

Concerts in the British Isles, USA, Canada, Holland, Belgium, Germany, Austria, France, Italy and Spain (repertoire mainly of own music and that of the late Romantics:  Busoni, Medtner, Szymanowski, Rachmaninov, also Erik Satie.)

Bass trombonist with the Royal Ballet Touring Orchestra and tuba player with the Gabrieli Brass Ensemble.
Featured Composer in the PARK LANE GROUP's  1995 South  Bank Concert Series.
List of Compositions



3 Operas, 25 Symphonies, 131 Piano Sonatas, countless works for vocal and chamber ensemble and the longest work ever written for 'cello and tuba.
Some of the piano sonatas are published by Alphonse Leduc, Paris, and Forward Music publishers, London.

Return to top of page

Return to British Composers main index or take a look at MUSICNOW main page to see what's new.

To contact John please e-mail Email.

Page maintained by Brigid Scott Baker. contact
Copyright(c)1997-1999 MUSICNOW Created: 04 June 1997 Updated: 16/07/1999