Cornelius Cardew Composition Prize - Composers Web Project


Barry Guy backnextcomposer index
Barry Guy pic


Barry Guy is an innovative composer and double bass player. His concert works have been widely performed and his skilful and inventive writing has resulted in an exceptional series of compositions: FLAGWALK (1983), THE EYE OF SILENCE (1988), LOOK UP! (1990) - which received the Royal Philharmonic Society Award for Chamber Scale compositions in 91-92 - and AFTER THE RAIN (1992)




Born in 1947 Barry Guys creative diversity in the fields of jazz improvisation, solo recitals, chamber and orchestral performance is the outcome of an unusually varied training and a zest for experimentation, underpinned by a dedication to the double bass and the ideal of musical communication.

He is the founder and Artistic Director of the London Jazz Composers Orchestra for which he has written several extended works with recordings of the following: Ode (Incus, 1972) Stringer (FMP, 1980) Polyhymnia on Zurich Concerts (Intakt, 1988), Harmos (Intakt, 1989) Double Trouble (Intakt, 1990) Theoria (Intakt, 1992) and Portraits (Intakt, 1994)

Guys compositons usually reflect a personal liaison with the musicians and ensembles he writes for and as such come from those interested in contemporary musical performance with a special commitment to communicate with the audience. The scores are virtuosic and often present innovative sonorities and extended instrumental techniques, which as a performer himself, he is ideally placed to assess without recourse to ideological excesses or scores that baffle players to the extent that performing becomes a trial. This process gives Guy's works a welcome sense of freshness.


Barry Guy gives solo recitals throughout Europe and the USA as well as performing with Evan Parker/Paul Lytton Trio, in Duos with pianists Irene Schweizer and Paul Plimley, in Trio with Marilyn Crispell and Gerry Hemingway and with Bill Dixon's quartet. He has appeared with Cecil Taylor and the Californian based group ROOM with Larry Ochs. 1991 saw the foundation of Guy's sextet ELSIEJO with Evan Parker, Irene Schwizer, Barre Phillips, Conrad Bauer and Paul Lytton.

In 1994 Un Coup de Des was joint prize winner in the Hilliard Composition Prize. As part of the 1995 Purcell Tercenternary, Fretwork commissioned BUZZ for viol consort - a reflection on Purcesll's Fantazia Upon One Note. His latest work CEREMONY for violin and tape, received its world premiere from its dedicatee, Maya Homburger, in October 1995. He is currently working commissions for the London Jazz Composers Orchestra and the City of London Sinfonia premiered a Concerto for Orchestra: FALLINGWATER in October 1996 at the Barbican Hall, London.
Selected Works


Selected Works

Return to top of page

Return to British Composers main index or take a look at MUSICNOW main page to see what's new.

To contact Barry please e-mail Email.

Page maintained by Brigid Scott Baker. contact
Copyright(c)1997-1999 MUSICNOW Created: 04 June 1997 Updated: 16/07/1999